26 November 2018

The Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) will pay tribute to the outstanding performances of the best athletes and teams at the PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Winter Games, on occasion of its General Assembly in Tokyo, Japan on 28-29 November.

Eight will be the categories to be awarded at the 5th edition of the ANOC Awards:

1.Best Individual Female

2.Best Individual Male

3.Best Female Team

4.Best Male Team

5.ANOC Award for Most Inspirational Performance

6.Most Successful Team

7.Breakthrough NOCs

8.ANOC Award for Inspiring Hope through Sport

As is traditional at the ANOC Awards, two distinguished members of the Olympic Family will also be presented with the Outstanding Lifetime Achievement and Contribution to the Olympic Movement awards.

The winners of each category were selected by an ANOC Jury, comprised of representatives from each of the Continental Associations, the ANOC Athletes’ Commission Chair Barbara Kendall, Association of International Olympic Winter Sports Federations (AIOWF) President Gian-Franco Kasper and ANOC Secretary General Gunilla Lindberg.

Last year’s Awards Ceremony saw for Europe alpine skier Marcel Hirscher (Austria) and swimmer Sarah Sjöström (Sweden) as the best male and female athletes, along with gymnast Nadia Comaneci (Romania) who was given the award for the most outstanding performance of 2017.

The ANOC Awards 2018 ceremony will take place on 28 November at the Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo, Japan and will be attended by representatives from all the 206 NOCs. The event will be broadcast starting from 20:00 local time on Tokyo Metropolitan Television in Japan and will be also live on ANOC YouTube channel.

Stay tuned to find out who will be the European athletes and teams to be awarded at this year’s ANOC Awards!