29 September 2017

Yuhan Tan, 30, is the chair of the new NOC Athletes’ Commission for the next quadrennial, which was approved by the NOC Executive Board during a meeting held in Brussels last 25 September.

Tan, who succeeds Jean-Michel Saive, is a left-handed badminton player, and a 9-times Belgian Champion in men’s singles, which makes him the most successful men’s singles athlete in Belgian history. He made 5th place at Baku 2015 European Games.

The commission includes 13 members, including six female athletes, all Olympians:

Ms Jill Boon (hockey), Lionel Cox (shooting), Ms Jolien D’Hoore (cycling), Joachim Gérard (paralympics), Tom Goegebuer (weightlifting), Ms llse Heylen (judo), Maxime Luycx (hockey), Ms Karen Persyn (ski), Ms Evi Van Acker (yatching), Hans Van Alphen (T&F), Seppe Van Holsbeke (fencing), Dirk Van Tichelt (judo) and Ms Elfje Willemsen (bobsleigh).

The new Chairperson is expected to attend the EOC Athletes Forum and General Assembly scheduled in Monaco next 18-20 October.