The sports events

* The Games of the Small States of Europe

Upon initiative by the NOC of Malta, in 1985 the Association launched the first edition of the Games of the Small States of Europe (GSSE), which was organised in San Marino. Since then, this multi sports event reserved for the athletes from the 8 countries of our continent with less than one million inhabitants, has taken place regularly every two years, with growing success. The second games were organised in Monaco (1987), then in Cyprus (1989), Andorra (1991), Malta (1993), Luxembourg (1995), Iceland (1997), Liechtenstein (1999), San Marino (2001), then again Malta (2003), Andorra (2005), Monte Carlo (2007), Cyprus (2009), Liechtenstein (2011), Luxembourg (2013) Iceland (2015).

The next Games will be held in San Marino, in 2017, then Montenegro in 2019

In 2009, Montenegro became the 9th member country.

*The European Youth Olympic Festival

In 1990, on the initiative of Dr. Jacques Rogge, the European Olympic Committees launched the "European Youth Olympic Days" (EYOD) now called EYOF, the only multi sports event on this Continent. The idea to organise European Games (launched even before the creation of the Association, then abandoned) was resumed. These Festivals, which have a summer and a winter edition, are organised every other year.

Since they were launched, the EYOF were staged successively in: 1991 in Brussels (BEL); 1993 in Aosta (ITA) and in Valkenswaard (NED); 1995 in Andorra-la Vella (AND) and in Bath (GBR); 1997 in Sundsvall (SWE) and in Lisbon (POR); 1999 in Poprad Tatry (SVK), Esbjerg (DEN), 2001 in Vuokatti (FIN) and Murcia (ESP). In 2003 the EYOF were hosted in Bled (SLO) and Paris (FRA).Monthey (SUI) and Lignano Sabbiadoro (ITA) organised the 2005 editions. The 2007 edition took place in Jaca (ESP) and Belgrade (SCG), whilst those for 2009 were held in Slask-Beskidy (POL) and Tampere (FIN). In 2011 they were held in Liberec (CZE) and Trabzon (TUR). Next in line are Brasov (ROU) and Utrecht (NED) in 2013. While in 2015 the EYOF will be hosted in Montafon (AUT/LIE) and Tbilisi (GEO), and in 2017 in Erzurum (TUR) and Györ (HUN).

The 2019 are: Minsk (Belarus) for the summer event, Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) for the winter event.

Within the framework of the summer EYOF, the EOC has successfully organised Seminars on Olympic information for young sports journalists in Esbjerg (DEN), Murcia (ESP) and Paris (FRA).

*The European Games

The European Games are a multisport event for the elite athletes of Europe, which takes place every four years.

The project was initiated at the 2007 General Assembly in Valencia (ESP), where it was agreed to conduct a feasibility study, entrusted to a group of experts led by Zlatko Matesa (CRO).

After five years, during which the matter was analysed and also discussed with other major stakeholders, at their 2012 General Assembly in Rome the majority of European NOCs voted to go ahead with the European Games, accepting Azerbaijan’s bid to host them in Baku.
in 2015, where some are expected.

In April 2013 the EOC set up a Coordination Commission for the Baku 2015 European Games led by Spyros Capralos (GRE).

The sports programme for the Baku 2015 inaugural European Games included 20 sports and welcomed some 7’000 athletes. For details, please see:

f-olyf-bakuEYOF Erzurum logoGyor EYOF logo Vertical copyf-riof-pyetokyo newYOG logo std RGB L posyog 2018 buenos aires