10 October 2018

Several European representatives from the Olympic movement achieved important recognitions at the elections during the IOC Session in Buenos Aires (Argentina) yesterday, 9 October.

Daina Gudzineviciute (Lithuania), President of the Lithuanian Olympic Committee and five-time Olympian, along with Giovanni Malagò (Italy), President of the Italian Olympic Committee, were elected IOC individual Members.

Following a proposal by the IOC Executive Board in July 2018, a total of nine new IOC Members were elected, three re-elected after eight years of membership and four finishing their mandate will become IOC Honorary Members.

IOC Member Mr Sergey Bubka (membership linked to his function as President of the NOC of Ukraine) had his status changed from Member representing a NOC to Individual Member.

IOC Member Mr Mario Pescante (ITA), who will finish its term of office at the end of 2018 because of the age limit, was granted the status of IOC Honorary Member.

Mr Ivo Ferriani (ITA) was elected to the IOC Executive Board as a member “with a view to representing the interests of the Olympic Winter International Federations”. He will serve a mandate of four years.

Now it’s time to cheer on our fellow European young athletes who are competing at Buenos Aires to become the brightest stars of tomorrow!