13 July 2017

The International Olympic Committee Executive Board has approved the candidatures of six winter sports athletes – out of them 4 are from Europe – for the IOC Athletes’ Commission elections, which will be held during the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 next February.

Nominated by their respective National Olympic Committees (NOCs), the European candidates are: Norwegian Astrid Uhrenholdt JACOBSEN  (skiing/cross-country); Spaniard Ander MIRAMBELL (skeleton); Finn Emma TERHO (ice hockey) and Italian Armin ZOEGGELER  (luge). They are joined by Kikkan RANDALL (USA) (skiing/cross-country) and Hong ZHANG (CHN) (skating/speed-skating).

Two seats on the Commission will become available in 2018, with current Chair Angela Ruggiero and member Adam Pengilly finishing their terms of office next February. All athletes participating in the next Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang will be eligible to vote for their preferred candidates. After approval by the IOC Session, the two elected Olympians will become IOC Members for an eight-year term.

Reflecting the Olympic Agenda 2020 aim of placing the athletes at the heart of the Olympic Movement and strengthening the support to athletes, the IOC Athletes’ Commission serves as a link between athletes and the IOC. The majority of members of the Commission are elected directly by Olympic athletes and act as the athletes’ representatives in the Olympic Movement. Members of the Commission are also present on the majority of IOC commissions, and the Chair serves on the IOC Executive Board as a full member.