The Structures

The European Olympic Committees pursue the objectives of the Olympic Charter in close association with the IOC, ANOC and the other Continental Associations. In view of the specific demands of its members, who were in a way the "founding members" of the modern Olympic Movement and often the point of reference for global sport, the EOC made it its task to put in place programmes and activities geared to the specific needs of the NOCs.

Over the years, the EOC has equipped itself with those working tools it needed in order to address the issues to hand, including commissions, working groups, commissioners etc.

During the 2005-2009 quadrennium, with funds from Olympic Solidarity and with the help of its official organs: the General Assembly, the Executive Committee, the Commissions (Technical Cooperation and Sport Development, Preparation of the Olympic Games, European Union, European Youth Olympic Festival, Medical and Scientific, Athletes,), the 2 working groups (New Ways of Communication, Sport & Environment), the ad hoc Commissioners (Togay Bayatli - Arab Sports Confederation and European Fair Play, Kikis Lazarides - Games of the Small States of Europe, Lambis Nikolaou – Olympic Academies; Craig Reedie - London 2012; Klaus Steinbach – Beijing 2008) and the Audit Committee and External Auditors, the European Olympic Committees each year organises, besides the General Assembly and 4 Executive Committee meetings, a Seminar for the Secretaries General and Chefs de Mission and, in alternate years, specific seminars such as technical seminars, on high level athletes and sports organisation, and marketing and juridical seminars.

In June 2001, the EOC Athletes Commission was created and its first chair was former Olympic champion Sergey Bubka (UKR). In December 2002 Sergey Bubka resigned as he had been appointed chair of the IOC Athletes Commission, and the former Olympic hammer throwing champion Jury Tamm (EST) took over the chair of the Athletes Commission.
In May 2005, a new Athletes’ Commission was elected during the 2nd European Athletes’ Assembly in Kiev and the chair entrusted to fencing champion Claudia Bokel (GER).
In September 2009, the Athletes’ Commission was again renewed during the 3rd European Athletes’ Assembly in Moscow, with a mandate through to 2013, and the chair was entrusted to canoe/kayak champion Antonio Rossi (ITA).
En October 2013 in Poreç (CRO), the European Athletes’ Assembly elected the new commission until 2017, now chaired by Jean-Michel Saive (BEL), table tennis Olympic champion.

In 2008, the EOC totally revamped their annual seminar, which had hitherto been exclusively for Secretaries General and Chefs de Mission, making the renamed EOC Seminar a key moment of encounter that is more dynamic and interactive thanks to workshops on topics of current interest.

In November 2009, the General Assembly held in Lisbon (POR) elected the Executive Committee that has been in charge until 2013.

At that time, apart its Athletes’ Commission, the Association had eight Commissions:
Olympic Games – chaired by Efraim Zinger (ISR); Marketing and Communication Commission – chaired by Janez Kocijancic (SLO); European Youth Olympic Festival – chaired by Guido De Bondt (BEL); European Union – chaired by Patrick Hickey (IRL), Vice Chairman Octavian Morariu (ROU); 2009 Olympic Congress Recommendations, Youth and Sport for All – chaired by Colin Moynihan (GBR); Olympic Culture and Education - chaired by Spyros Capralos (GRE); Medical And Anti Doping – chaired by Dr. Klaus Steinbach (GER); International Relations – chaired by Togay Bayatli (TUR).

In early 2013 a new commission called Women and equality in Sport was set up under EOC Vice President Alexander Kozlovsky.

And also avails itself of three ad hoc Commissioners – GSSE: Marc Theisen (LUX);
SOCHI 2014: Gunilla Lindberg (SWE); RIO 2016 and South America Relations: Alejandro Blanco (ESP) – as well as of a European Games Feasibility Study Group chaired by Zlatko Matesa (CRO).

In November 2013, in Rome, the General Assembly elected the EOC Executive Committee for the 2013/2017 period. Patrick Hickey (IRL) is re-elected as President, Raffaele Pagnozzi as Secretary General and Kikis Lazarides as Treasurer. Janez Kocijančič (SLO) is Vice-President.

In 2014 the EOC appointed 8 new commissions: Olympic Games (chaired by George Katulin – BLR); Marketing and Communication (chaired by Peter Mennel – AUT; EYOF (chaired by Victor Sanchez – ESP); European Union (chaired by Neinar Seli – EST); Olympic Culture and Legacy (chaired by Susanna Rahkamo – FIN); Medical and Anti-Doping (chaired by Klaus Steinbach – GER); Gender Equality in Sport (Daina Gudzineviciute – LTU).

f-olyf-bakuEYOF Erzurum logoGyor EYOF logo Vertical copyf-riof-pyetokyo newYOG logo std RGB L posyog 2018 buenos aires