The EOC Order of Merit is the highest recognition of the European Olympic Committees and it is awarded for particularly distinguished contributions to the Olympic Movement. The EOC Order of Merit was created in 1995, involving the award of a decoration to be worn personally by the recipient.

Only individuals may be beneficiaries.

May be admitted to the EOC Order of Merit, any person who has contributed through his actions in:

  • The diffusion in Europe of the Olympic ideals according to the IOC Olympic Charter
  • The promotion of the cooperation between the European NOCs and more generally, any person who has illustrated the Olympic ideal through his actions, has achieved remarkable merit in the sporting world or who has rendered outstanding services to the Olympic cause.
26th edition, 2020
(SLO) Janez Kocijancic EOC President
25th edition, 2019
(SVK) Frantisek CHMELAR Former Member of the EOC Executive Committee
24th edition, 2018
(RUS) Mr. Alexander KOZLOVSKY Former Member of EOC Executive Committee
23rd edition, 2017
(CRO) Mr. Zlatko Matesa President of the NOC of Croatia
22nd edition, 2016
Did not take place
21st edition, 2015
(AZE) HE Mehriban ALIYEVA First Lady of Azerbaijan
20th edition, 2014
(GER) Thomas BACH IOC President
19th edition, 2013
(ISL) Olafur RAFNSSON President of NOC of Iceland
18th edition, 2012
(GBR) Lord Sebastian COE Chairman London Games 2012
17th edition, 2011
(RUS) Vitaly SMIRNOV IOC Member
16th edition, 2010
(POL) Piotr NUROWSKI President of NOC of Poland
15th edition, 2009
(GER) Walther TROEGER IOC Member
14th edition, 2008
(FRA) Henri SERANDOUR IOC Member, President NOC of France
13th edition, 2007
(MEX) Mario VAZQUEZ RAÑA ANOC President, Member of the IOC Executive Board
12th edition, 2006
(ITA) Mario PESCANTE Member of the IOC Executive Board, EOC Honorary President for life
11th edition, 2005
(MON) HSH Prince Albert II de Monaco IOC Member
10th edition, 2004
(BEL) Jacques ROGGE IOC President
9th edition, 2003
(TUR) Sinan ERDEM IOC Member, President of NOC of Turkey
8th edition, 2002
(CZE) Vera CASLAVSKA NOC of Czech Republic
7th edition, 2001
(ESP) Juan Antonio SAMARANCH IOC Honorary President for life
6th edition, 2000
(POL) Aleksander KWASNIEWSKI President of the Republic of Poland (BRA) Joao HAVELANGE IOC Member, Honorary President of FIFA
5th edition, 1999
(SWE) Gunnar ERICSSON IOC Honorary Member
4th edition, 1998
(SEN) H.E. the Judge Keba MBAYE IOC Vice President
3rd edition, 1997
(SUI) Raymond GAFNER IOC Honorary Member (SUI) Marc HODLER Member of the IOC Executive Board
2nd edition, 1996
(ESP) Anselmo LOPEZ Honour Director, IOC Olympic Solidarity
1st edition, 1995
(FRA) Claude COLLARD President Mediterranean Games International Committee (ESP) Raoul MOLLET Honour President of COIB