13 Sep 2021

Former EOC Athletes’ Commission Chair Jean-Michel Saive elected as President of Belgian NOC

Categories: ENOCs · EOC

13 September 2021

Jean-Michel Saive was elected President of the Belgian Olympic and Interfederal Committee (BOIC) during an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) in Belgium, Bruxelles on 10 September 2021.

Saive succeeded the long-serving Pierre-Olivier Beckers-Vieujant and becomes the 10th President of the National Olympic Committee (NOC), receiving 77 votes against the 37 of his opponent former judoka Heidi Rakels.

A former table tennis player, he competed at seven Olympic Games for Belgium, becoming European champion in 1994 and earning two silver medals at the World Championships.

Jean-Michel has also served as Chair of the EOC Athletes’ Commission from 2013 to 2017, after being a Member from 2009 and 2013.

EOC President Spyros Capralos and Secretary General Raffaele Pagnozzi warmly congratulate Jean-Michel on his new achievement and look forward to cooperating with him.