Besides the EOC Order of Merit, the EUROPEAN OLYMPIC LAUREL AWARDS have been created in 2007. It is remitted in recognition of outstanding roles in the promotion and development of Sport and it is given on occasion of the EOC General Assembly, usually in November.

Individuals or organisations may be the beneficiaries.

May be admitted any person or organisation that has:

  • Performed outstanding services in favour of the promotion of Sport within their country
  • Achieved remarkable merit in the sporting world
  • Contributed to the promotion of cooperation between the European NOCsand more generally, any person or organisation that has played an important role in the enhancement of participation and development of sport at all levels.
13th edition, 2019
(BEL) Mr. Eddy DE SMEDT High Level Sport Director for 33 years. 4-time Chef de Mission at the Olympic Games. (CZE) Mr Milan JIRASEK Former NOC President, Former EOC Executive Committee Member (FIN) Mr Kalevi TUOMINEN Functions within the NOC: Director of the Finnish Olympic Committee for 23 years (GEO) Ms. Mariam GIORGOBIANI Functions within the NOC: Executive Board Member; President of Georgian Figure Skating Federation (POL) Mr. Kajetan HADZELEK Former Vice President Polish NOC. Honorary Member of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) (NED) Mr. Andre BOLHUIS Former NOC President and board member for 12 years.
12th edition, 2018
(AUT) Prof. Peter SCHRÖCKSNADEL President, Austrian Ski Federation; Member of FIS Council (GEO) Mr. Jansug BAGRATIONI Functions within the NOC: former President, Honorary President at present. Handball player and coach. (GRE) Mr. Emmanuel KATSIADAKIS Functions within the NOC: former Secretary General. Secretary General, International Fencing Federation (ISL) Mr. Ellert SCHRAM Honorary President, National Olympic and Sports Association of Iceland Former NOC President from 1990 to 1997 (LUX) Mr. Jean-Louis MARGUE Functions within the NOC: former Vice-President, Board Member (40 years) and Treasurer (POR) Mr. José Vicente MOURA Functions within the NOC: former President. Founder of the National Olympic Academy of Portugal
11th edition, 2017
(BUL) Mr. Tzeno TZENOV President, United World Wrestling Europe (HUN) Mr. Rezso GALLOV Water polo player, coach, sport journalist (ITA) Mr. Roberto FABBRICINI Secretary General, National Olympic Committee of Italy (ESP) Mr. Victor SÁNCHEZ NARANJO Treasurer of the Spanish Olympic Committee (UKR) Mr. Igor LYSOV President, Ukrainian Diving Federation
10th edition, 2016
(CRO) Mr. Luciano SUŠANJ Vice-President, Croatian Olympic Committee President, Croatian Athletics Federation (CYP) Mr. Constantinos MICHAELIDES President, Cyprus National Olympic Committee President, National Olympic Academy (GEO) Mr. Kakhi KAKHIASHVILI Olympic Champion President, Georgian Weightlifting Federation (ITA) Mr. Nicola PIETRANGELI Outstanding tennis player Italian Tennis Federation Ambassador for International programs (LTU) Mr. Arvydas JUOZAITIS Vice-President, National Olympic Committee of Lithuania President, Lithuanian Fair Play Committee (SVK) Mr. Zdenko KRIZ Executive Committee Member, Slovak Olympic Committee President, Slovak Table Tennis Association (UKR) Ms. Svitlana SAIDOVA Head Coach, Ukrainian Synchronised Swimming
9th edition, 2015
(CRO) Mrs. Morana PALIKOVIC GRUDEN President of the Croatian Skating Federation (FRA) Mr. Alain GELES a strong career within the French NOC (MLT) Mr. Joseph CASSAR Secretary General of the Maltese Olympic Committee (ROU) Mr. Ioan DOBRESCU one of the longest serving Secretaries General for the NOC of Romania (RUS) Mr. Igor KAZIKOV more than 40 years working in Russian sport institutions
8th edition, 2014
(BEL) Mr. Guido DE BONDT Former NOC Secretary General (GER) Ms. Gudrun DOLL-TEPPER Chairperson, German Olympic Academy (POL) Mr. Zbigniew PACELT Swimming Olympian and Modern Pentathlon champion (UKR) Mr. Oleksandr VOLKOV Basketball Olympian and sports leader
7th edition, 2013
(GEO) Mr. Emzar ZENAISHVILI NOC Secretary General (LIE) Mr. Josef EBERLE Former NOC President (POR) Mr. Vasco LYNCE Former NOC President (RUS) Mr. Valery KUVAYEV NOC Chef de Mission (TUR) Mr. Togay BAYATLI Former NOC President
6th edition, 2012
(BUL) Mr. Zeko MINEV President of the National Ski Federation (CZE) Mrs. Dana ZATOPKOVA Javelin thrower, a life dedicated to athletics (GRE) Mr. Diοnyssis S. GANGAS Director of the International Olympic Academy (ISR) Mr. Zvi VARSHAVIAK NOC President
5th edition, 2011
(FRA) Mr. Alain CALMAT Top figure skater, politician and sports leader (GBR) Mr. David HEMERY Triple Olympic medallist and World Champion – hurdler (POR) Mr. Luis SANTOS President of the National Handball Federation
4th edition, 2010
(AZE) Mr. Chingiz HUSEYNZADA NOC Vice President (MLT) Mr. Lino FARRUGIA SACCO NOC President (SVK) Mr. Vladimir MILLER NOC Vice President (RUS) Mr. Yury YURIEV NOC Former Secretary General
3rd edition, 2009
(ARM) Mr. Gagik TSARUKYAN NOC President (CRO) Mr. Antun VRDOLJAK IOC Member (ISL) Mr. Stefan KONRADSSON Former Secretary General (LTU) Mr. Arturas POVILIUNAS NOC President
2nd edition, 2008
(FIN) Mr. Tapani ILKKA NOC former President (CYP) Mr. Andreas STAVROU NOC former Secretary General (MON) Mme Yvette LAMBIN-BERTI Secretary General (GER) Ms. Erika DIENSTIL
1st edition, 2007
(LAT) Mr. Vilnis BALTINS Honorary President (UKR) Mr. Volodymyr BRYNZAK 1st Vice President (SRB) Mr. Predrag MANOJLOVIC Secretary General (IRL) Mr. Dermot SHERLOCK Secretary General